Opening night: 27 October 2010  Rotterdam

For this production Daan received a Musical Award: Best Choreography.


… “There is hardly a show to remember in which direction, choreography and music are so beautifully braided together. Each movement is an excellent musical-choreography in which the storytelling moves along”… (Volkskrant – Patrick van den Hanenberg).

… “Thanks to the great choreography by Daan Wijnands.” … (Das Musical Magazin – Linda English)


Urinetown tells the absurd story of a gray town where water is scarce. Private toilets are banned and the evil company that operates toilets, flourishes by asking exorbitant entrance fees. Bobbie Gold has had enough and urges the people to rebellion. But the situation is complicated when he falls in love with Lot, the daughter of the toilets administrator. Urinetown is full of satirical humor and winks to famous musicals such as Les Misérables and West Side Story. In reverse pantomime style, the unconventional plotline shatters audience expectations of a somewhat pleasant ending.

Urinetown is a tale of greed, corruption, love and revolution. The theme is indeed urinate, but it deals with everyday issues that affect us all. Urinetown played over three years of success on Broadway and became a cult hit. In theater M-Lab in Amsterdam it was the surprise of the theater season 2009. With only positive reactions from press and public Joop van den Ende Theater Productions took the musical, in collaboration with Opus One, Mojo Theater and Theater Partners Senf to 60 theaters throughout the Netherlands.

For this production of Urinetown Daan received the John Kraaijkamp Musical Award: for Best Choreography / Musical Staging 2010.


René van Kooten – Officer Lockstock
Suzan Seegers – Little Sally
Jamai Loman – Bobbie Strong
Han Oldigs, Fred Butter – Caldwell B. Cladwell
Noortje Herlaar, Renee Wegberg – Hope Cladwell
Sluyterman Frederique van Loo, Ellis van Laarhoven – Penelope Pennywise
Zjon Smaal, Rop Verheijen – Joseph Strong
Roosmarijn of Bohemia – Josephine Strong
Anouk Roolker, Chiara Re – Sad Susan e.o.
Tibisay Mercera, Kristel Constant – ensemble
Michael Muller, Mitch Wolterink – ensemble
Florens Eykemans, Yoran de Bont – Officers


Script and lyrics – Greg Kotis
Music and lyrics – Mark Hollman
Director and translation – Jurrian van Dongen
Choreography – Daan Wijnands
Musical direction and arrangements – Menno Theunissen
Lighting and set design – Coen van der Hoeven
Sound Design – Jeroen Bas
Costumes – Maritska van Aalst
Casting – Brigitte Odett
Resident director and assistant choreography – Frank Schraven
Technical supervision – Henk van Gilpen
Executive producer OpusOne – Martin Voogel
Producers – Stage Entertainment