Hello, Dolly!

Opening Night Hello,Dolly!: 8 March 2020 Nieuwe Luxor, Rotterdam

Review quotes:
“… the energetic ensemble numbers, which were set up in grand style by choreographer Daan Wijnands, show a Broadway feeling on the stage which you rarely see in Dutch theaters.

“This performance is particularly surprising in a number of large dance scenes – the choreography is by Daan Wijnands.” (Volkskrant – Joris Henquet)

“Choreographer Daan Wijnands is pushing his dancers to Olympic heights.” (Parool / AD – Patrick van den Hanenberg)

“… The ensemble numbers are of such a high level that, thanks to choreographer Daan Wijnands, they are a pleasure to watch.” (Telegraph – Esther Kleuver)

“A huge ensemble sings and dances at the highest level in imaginative, acrobatic choreographies by Daan Wijnands.” (Trouw – Bianca Bartels)

“… A beautiful top-class ballet craftsmanship. A moment of grace for Daan Wijnands, who again manifests himself as an extremely inventive choreographer. ” (Newspaper of the North – Jacques d’Acona)

Story Hello,Dolly!

Hello, Dolly! is a 1964 musical with lyrics and music by Jerry Herman and a book by Michael Stewart, based on Thornton Wilder’s 1938 farce The Merchant of Yonkers, which Wilder revised and retitled The Matchmaker in 1955. The musical follows the story of Dolly Gallagher Levi, a strong-willed matchmaker, as she travels to Yonkers, New York to find a match for the miserly “well-known unmarried half-a-millionaire” Horace Vandergelder.


Dolly Levi – Simone Kleinsma
Horus Vandengelder- Paul de Leeuw & Jörgen Raymann
Cornelius Hackl- Freek Bartels
Irene Molloy – Nandi van Beurden
Barnaby Tucker- Martijn Vogel
Minnie Fay – Annemarie Maandag
Ernestina – Marjolijn Touw
Ambrose Kemper – Bart van Veldhoven
Ermengarde – Anouk van Duifhuizen
Rudolph – Ger Otte


Jip Bartels, Léon Batelaan, Darcey Roosenboom, Anouk Rietveld, Mieke van der Hulst, Yoran de Bont, Thom Koolen, Merlijne van Noppen, Davy van der Lubbe, Ruben Kuppens, Kelly van den Boogaard, Danique Graanoogst, Sven Blom, Flen Huisman, Sander Bos, Isabelle Verder, Sacha Setubun.


Script: Michael Stewart
Music & Lyrics: Jerry Herman
Direction: Glenn Casale
Translation: Jan Rot
Choreography: Daan Wijnands
Associate choreographer: Eline Vroon
Musical supervisor: Jeroen Sleyfer
Costume design: Yan Tax
Set design: Carla Janssen-Höfelt
Video design: Lars Gorter
Light design: Andrew Voller
Sound design: Gareth Owen, Ramon van Stee
Hair & Make-up: Leendert van Nimwegen, Michel van Oostveen
Company Manager: Lisanne de Snoo
2e Musical supervisor: Paul Maassen
Resident Director: Jeroen Luiten
Creative Director: Maurice Wijnen
Technical Manager: Mischa Pet
Executive producer: Niels Dijkhoff
Producers: Iris van den Ende & Miel Gouda


More info